New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Convert Mysql to MSSQL
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedConvert Mysql to MSSQL

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
DjStitch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01-Oct-2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 24
Post Options Post Options   Quote DjStitch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Convert Mysql to MSSQL
    Posted: 01-Oct-2008 at 5:07am
Hi there .....
 
I need some advice.
 
One of my clients wants to move about 200 users to MSSQL.
Now to problem that I have is all of them is on "MYSQL" and what I noted is that there mysql database design has got not "RELATIONS" between them.
 
Now i can redesign a new MSSQL databas to use "RELATIONS' but how do I convert all the 200 users to the new MSSQL database becourse there MYSQL databases got no "RELATIONS".
 
I got a cople of convert programs but it won't help me if the MYSQL desighn dont have relations to start off - so the relations wont be converted.
 
Thanks.......  
Back to Top
davidklitzke View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Posts: 715
Post Options Post Options   Quote davidklitzke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01-Oct-2008 at 3:50pm
Only INNODB type MSQL Databases support relations. So you have to make all your tables INNODB to support relations.
 
InnoDB provides MySQL with a transaction-safe (ACID compliant) storage engine that has commit, rollback, and crash recovery capabilities. InnoDB does locking on the row level and also provides an Oracle-style consistent non-locking read in SELECT statements. These features increase multi-user concurrency and performance. There is no need for lock escalation in InnoDB because row-level locks fit in very little space. InnoDB also supports FOREIGN KEY constraints. You can freely mix InnoDB tables with tables from other MySQL storage engines, even within the same statement.
Back to Top
DjStitch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01-Oct-2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 24
Post Options Post Options   Quote DjStitch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01-Oct-2008 at 11:28pm

Thanks for you reply...... I realy did not know that.

I went trough your whitepapers and a saw the you can setup manual relations between tables.

My second question is --->

I am stil using version 3.x, so I will convert all the users with a convert utility to MSSQL, then setup manual relations useing Object Mapper..

Will this work and how many relations can be mapped to one table for example ?

I got a table "cust_main" with all the customers in about 23000, now all of the got relations tables

"cust_address" - home address

"cust_masdep - dependants to the cust main and so on.

How long will a query to the database take ?

Thanks.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to Top
davidklitzke View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Posts: 715
Post Options Post Options   Quote davidklitzke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02-Oct-2008 at 8:16am
You may certainly setup the relations using the Object Mapper, but I would prefer that you build the relations in the in the MSSQL database instead.  Otherwise. you willl need to manually create the relations in the Object Mapper every time that you create a solution using these tables.
Back to Top
DjStitch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01-Oct-2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 24
Post Options Post Options   Quote DjStitch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03-Oct-2008 at 5:12am

Can you please check my other thread - not this one.

With the other thread I explain everything in detail 

Back to Top
wonn1377 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21-Aug-2009
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote wonn1377 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21-Aug-2009 at 7:04am

I use data loader for migrating almost any data, it helps me to convert MSSQL to MYSQL, MS access to MSSQL, mysql, csv loader, foxpro and MSSQL to MS access, MYSQl, CSV, foxpro etc. In my view this is a best Data Migration Tool 


Download Free : http://www.dbload.com

Back to Top
jean3167 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31-Aug-2009
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote jean3167 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31-Aug-2009 at 2:48am
Here is a tool to convert MSSQL to MYSQL database. That i found on google search it this converter can do migrate any data try and tel me is that worth or not.
Back to Top
mesothelioma claims View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17-Nov-2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote mesothelioma claims Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-Nov-2009 at 9:02pm
Originally posted by DjStitch

Can you please check my other thread - not this one.

With the other thread I explain everything in detail 



Hey where is your other thread?


Edited by mesothelioma claims - 17-Nov-2009 at 9:05pm
Back to Top
Shumaker212 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18-Dec-2009
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote Shumaker212 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18-Dec-2009 at 3:24am
Use a tool to migrate database, i use dbload for the conversion of database.

Find Here :  http://www.dbload.com
Back to Top
vinothvdp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21-Sep-2007
Location: India
Posts: 27
Post Options Post Options   Quote vinothvdp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31-Jan-2010 at 6:09am
Greets,
How to use MYSQL database?, is there any example available? please help me out..

Thanks
Back to Top
davidklitzke View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Posts: 715
Post Options Post Options   Quote davidklitzke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01-Feb-2010 at 10:30am
IdeaBlade does not officially support MySQL for DevForce Classic.  Please review other posts from this thread.
Back to Top
vinothvdp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21-Sep-2007
Location: India
Posts: 27
Post Options Post Options   Quote vinothvdp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01-Feb-2010 at 9:31pm
Which devforce product support MYSQL?
Back to Top
davidklitzke View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Posts: 715
Post Options Post Options   Quote davidklitzke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02-Feb-2010 at 9:24am
DevForce WinClient and DevForce Silverlight.
 
There is a provider from Devart that has MYSQL support for the Entity Framework.  If a provider works with the Entity Framework, it will work with DevForce WinClient or DevForce Silverlight.  See:

http://www.devart.com/dotconnect/mysql/
 
There may be other providers as well, either now or in the future.  Try searching the web for "MYSQL Entity Framework".
Back to Top
dmsoft View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05-Mar-2010
Posts: 1
Post Options Post Options   Quote dmsoft Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05-Mar-2010 at 5:05am
DBConvert tool is able to convert from Mysql to MSSQL. For more information take a look at http://www.dbconvert.com/convert-mssql-to-http://www.dbconvert.com/convert-mssql-to-mysql-pro.php

Edited by dmsoft - 05-Mar-2010 at 5:08am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down