New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: n-tier deployment issues
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

n-tier deployment issues

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: n-tier deployment issues
    Posted: 25-Jun-2008 at 8:15am
I am trying to deploy my app. I have posted my issues w/ ClickOnce on another thread, still no response.
 
I have create a setup project for the BOS server. Which I believe works correctly, at least on the test run it did. I have tried creating the deployment for the data layer, have some issues but that is for another thread.  I have been unsuccessful in deploying the CABANA app. I have used ClickOnce, but it fails when I try to run it.
 
I am assuming the issue is with the IdeaBlade.ibconfig. Below is a list of what the BOS and Client have. Please let me know if it is correct:
 
 ???Is the rdbKey information needed on the client???
 
BOS-
AppHelper.dll - (Contains IdeaBlade.ibconfig)
Model.dll
IdeaBlade.Persistence.Server.dll
(Other required IdeaBlade dll's)
IdeaBlade.ibconfig - (loose) <contents>

 <rdbKey name="default" databaseProduct="Unknown">

    <connection><ConnectionString to server></connection>

    <probeAssemblyName>IdeaBlade.Common.EntityModel</probeAssemblyName>

    <probeAssemblyName>LOC.CEMS.Model</probeAssemblyName>

  </rdbKey>

  <remoting>

    <remotePersistenceEnabled>true</remotePersistenceEnabled>

    <communicationsTechnology>Remoting</communicationsTechnology>

    <remoteBaseURL><Address to the Datalayer server></remoteBaseURL>

    <serverPort>9009</serverPort>

    <serviceName>CabanaServer/PersistenceServer.rem</serviceName>

    <serverDetectTimeoutMilliseconds>-1</serverDetectTimeoutMilliseconds>

    <proxyPort>0</proxyPort>

  </remoting>

Client (Published ClickOnce) - ???Is the rdbKey information needed on the client???
AppHelper.dll - (Contains IdeaBlade.ibconfig)

 <rdbKey name="default" databaseProduct="Unknown">

    <connection><ConnectionString to server></connection>

    <probeAssemblyName>IdeaBlade.Common.EntityModel</probeAssemblyName>

    <probeAssemblyName>LOC.CEMS.Model</probeAssemblyName>

  </rdbKey>

  <remoting>

    <remotePersistenceEnabled>true</remotePersistenceEnabled>

    <communicationsTechnology>Remoting</communicationsTechnology>

    <remoteBaseURL><Address to the BOS server></remoteBaseURL>

    <serverPort>9009</serverPort>

    <serviceName>CabanaServer/PersistenceServer.rem</serviceName>

    <serverDetectTimeoutMilliseconds>-1</serverDetectTimeoutMilliseconds>

    <proxyPort>0</proxyPort>

  </remoting>

Back to Top
kimj View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 09-May-2007
Posts: 1390
Post Options Post Options   Quote kimj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02-Jul-2008 at 6:31pm
The rdbKey connection information is not needed on the client.  The rdbKey itself may be needed on the client to probe for interface implementations, such as IIdGenerator.  If you are not using Id generation then you may be able to remove the rdbKey from the client ibconfig altogether.
 
If you are not using IIS to host your BOS, then you don't need to use the .rem extension on the serviceName.  If you are using IIS, then you should be using port 80 for the serverPort.  When using IIS, the remoting configuration will actually come from the web.config, although you should keep the <remoting> element in your server-side ibconfig because it is (unfortunately) still used for some tracing messages.
 
 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down