New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: clickonce deployment issues
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Forum Lockedclickonce deployment issues

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: clickonce deployment issues
    Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 12:59pm
I have tried to follow the instructions from the ClickOnceShim to create the deployment application. ClickOnceShim is referenced in the Shell project. I have used MageUI to create the installation. I copied to the files to the server.
 
App/1.0.0.0/
/bin
App.Application
App.exe.manifest
 
I get the following error when I try to run http://.../App/1.0.0.0/App.Application

-----------------------------------------------------------------
PLATFORM VERSION INFO
 Windows    : 5.1.2600.131072 (Win32NT)
 Common Language Runtime  : 2.0.50727.832
 System.Deployment.dll   : 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
 mscorwks.dll    : 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
 dfdll.dll    : 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
 dfshim.dll    : 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
SOURCES
 Deployment url   : http://..../App/1.0.0.0/App.application
      Server  : Microsoft-IIS/6.0
      X-Powered-By : ASP.NET
 Deployment Provider url  : http://..../App
ERROR SUMMARY
 Below is a summary of the errors, details of these errors are listed later in the log.
 * Activation of http://..../App/1.0.0.0/App.application resulted in exception. Following failure messages were detected:
  + Downloading http://..../App did not succeed.
  + The remote server returned an error: (403) Forbidden.
COMPONENT STORE TRANSACTION FAILURE SUMMARY
 No transaction error was detected.
WARNINGS
 There were no warnings during this operation.
OPERATION PROGRESS STATUS
 * [2/12/2008 1:00:42 PM] : Activation of http://..../App/1.0.0.0/App.application has started.
ERROR DETAILS
 Following errors were detected during this operation.
 * [2/12/2008 1:00:42 PM] System.Deployment.Application.DeploymentDownloadException (Unknown subtype)
  - Downloading http://..../App did not succeed.
  - Source: System.Deployment
  - Stack trace:
   at System.Deployment.Application.SystemNetDownloader.DownloadSingleFile(DownloadQueueItem next)
   at System.Deployment.Application.SystemNetDownloader.DownloadAllFiles()
   at System.Deployment.Application.FileDownloader.Download(SubscriptionState subState)
   at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadManifestAsRawFile(Uri& sourceUri, String targetPath, IDownloadNotification notification, DownloadOptions options, ServerInformation& serverInformation)
   at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadDeploymentManifestDirect(SubscriptionStore subStore, Uri& sourceUri, TempFile& tempFile, IDownloadNotification notification, DownloadOptions options, ServerInformation& serverInformation)
   at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.FollowDeploymentProviderUri(SubscriptionStore subStore, AssemblyManifest& deployment, Uri& sourceUri, TempFile& tempFile, IDownloadNotification notification, DownloadOptions options)
   at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadDeploymentManifestBypass(SubscriptionStore subStore, Uri& sourceUri, TempFile& tempFile, SubscriptionState& subState, IDownloadNotification notification, DownloadOptions options)
   at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.PerformDeploymentActivation(Uri activationUri, Boolean isShortcut)
   at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.ActivateDeploymentWorker(Object state)
  --- Inner Exception ---
  System.Net.WebException
  - The remote server returned an error: (403) Forbidden.
  - Source: System
  - Stack trace:
   at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetResponse()
   at System.Deployment.Application.SystemNetDownloader.DownloadSingleFile(DownloadQueueItem next)
COMPONENT STORE TRANSACTION DETAILS
 No transaction information is available.

-----------------------------------------------
I have also tried to use the publish feature when I do that I get a 404 error instead of 403.
I have tried to create a client installation as well. When I do that it gets passed the login screen but the form is empty.


Edited by orcities - 12-Feb-2008 at 1:02pm
Back to Top
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 1:06pm
I have gone thru many articles online to resolve. I have changed the rights in IIS to create its own application. It is using the correct Asp.Net framework. The Mime type has been added to the headers to allow for:
 
.* - application/octet-stream
.application - application/x-ms-application
.manifest - application/x-ms-application.
 
Back to Top
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 1:38pm

I am finally able to get the clickonce deployment to work. I am using the publish feature of VS to do so, update had to be filled incorrectly and it was hidden under options. I have found that the dll from the ClickOnceShim are not loaded which is an issue because none of my module dll are loaded.

Back to Top
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 2:15pm
How do I get it to successfully reference all dll's needed. I know that is what the shim is suppose to do but I can't get the the .application file to run from the server.
Back to Top
Bill Jensen View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 31-Jul-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 229
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bill Jensen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 2:16pm

1.  In your first post, you said that ClickOnceShim is referenced by the Shell project.  Reconfirm this.

2.  Use the ConfigurationManager to confirm that ClickOnceShim is built as part of the active solution configuration.
 
3.  Verify that ClickOnceShim.dll is present in the bin\Debug folder of the application.
 
Bill
Back to Top
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 2:31pm
ClickOnceShim.dll is referenced
configuration Manager has ClickOnceShim being compiled in both the Debug and the Release builds
all files show up in the /bin/Debug folder.
all files show up in the /bin/Release folder.
 
But during publish they do not show up.
And I can't get the files to download when to use MageUI.
 
Back to Top
Bill Jensen View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 31-Jul-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 229
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bill Jensen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 3:09pm
Right click on your Shell project and select Properties.
 
Select the Publish Tab.
 
Click Application Files...
 
Be sure all files necessary for your application are marked "Include"
 
B.
Back to Top
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 3:11pm
ClickOnceShim is there and set to include(auto)
my modules are not there and I don't know how to add them
Back to Top
Bill Jensen View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 31-Jul-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 229
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bill Jensen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 3:15pm
Did you add references to classes from your modules to Dummy.cs in ClickOnceShim?
Back to Top
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 3:17pm

AdministrationModule aAdministrationModule;

RolodexModule aRolodexModule;

SecurityModuleModule aSecurityModule;

WelcomeModule aWelcomeModule;

SharedQuestionEditorModule aSharedEditor;

Back to Top
Bill Jensen View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 31-Jul-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 229
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bill Jensen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 3:25pm
Try checking ShowAllFiles.  This should show all files in the bin/Debug folder.  Are the module DLL files present in bin/Debug?
Back to Top
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 3:26pm
I finally got it to load. But when the form comes up the file form is blank. What would be causing that.
Back to Top
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 3:30pm
Back to Top
Bill Jensen View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 31-Jul-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 229
Post Options Post Options   Quote Bill Jensen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Feb-2008 at 4:02pm
Looks like your Foundation module isn't loading.
 
Is it included in the manifest?
 
Is ProfileCatalog.xml included in the manifest?
 
B.
Back to Top
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13-Feb-2008 at 10:07am
I did forget the ProfileCatalog.xml file.
 
Now I can install and run it on my machine but I can't get it to install/run on other machines. They will not connect to the server. What changes do I need to make to ibconfig file to get it to work.
 
If I do the clickonce the program installs but never runs. It throws an error before the load screen comes up.
 
If I do an install package it installs but the connection to the server never happens and it throws an error about the connection string in the ibconfig file.
Back to Top
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13-Feb-2008 at 10:12am
Installing using an install package gives me an error about IdeaBlade.Persistence.Server not being found. From what I read this is suppose to go on the server not the client. Is that correct?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down