New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: BOS Model Error: DataColumnMapping.SourceColumn is required to be unique
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedBOS Model Error: DataColumnMapping.SourceColumn is required to be unique

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
kjohnson View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19-Nov-2008
Posts: 19
Post Options Post Options   Quote kjohnson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: BOS Model Error: DataColumnMapping.SourceColumn is required to be unique
    Posted: 20-Oct-2011 at 5:29am
We are having a intermittent but persistent error occurring with the Model for the project I've been working on. When the problem occurs when trying to login to the persistence manager. And it returns the error:

The DataColumnMapping.SourceColumn is required to be unique. 'Inactive' already exists in the collection.

This error is a little strange because the column 'Inactive' has been present in the database since it was created, and has not been modified since. This error will occasionally occur when I need to update the Model (which I make sure to do a mandatory update to our program so all users have a current version on the Model to work from). But the error will also occasionally occur days after I've made the update to the Model.

To clear the error and get the Model working again, I'm forced to make another update to the Model. Doing a recompile of the Model (even when clearing the build destination folder) doesn't clear the error, I have to change something in the Model and update the server before the error will be cleared.

I've been trying to figure out what could be causing this problem to occur but so far have made little progress beyond handling the symptoms of the problem (namely the ones that the end-user would see). Any help that could be provided would be appreciated.
Back to Top
kimj View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 09-May-2007
Posts: 1390
Post Options Post Options   Quote kimj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20-Oct-2011 at 8:33am
Which version of DevForce 2005 are you running?  

Edited by kimj - 20-Oct-2011 at 8:34am
Back to Top
kjohnson View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19-Nov-2008
Posts: 19
Post Options Post Options   Quote kjohnson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20-Oct-2011 at 12:08pm
We are running DevForce Classic version 3.6.10.0
Back to Top
kimj View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 09-May-2007
Posts: 1390
Post Options Post Options   Quote kimj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20-Oct-2011 at 12:47pm
This sounds like a mutli-threading problem on the BOS.   We fixed several locking / multi-threading problems after the 3.6.10 release, and the current 3.7.5 release should fix your problem.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down