New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: What is the equiv. to Entity[Ordinal] from classic
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

What is the equiv. to Entity[Ordinal] from classic

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: What is the equiv. to Entity[Ordinal] from classic
    Posted: 23-Mar-2010 at 5:18pm

How do you find a specific property in WinClient API.

In Classic you could go to the DataRow format and get the property based on the ordinal. How do you do the equiv. with WinClient?


Edited by orcities - 25-Mar-2010 at 5:08pm
Back to Top
davidklitzke View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Posts: 715
Post Options Post Options   Quote davidklitzke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25-Mar-2010 at 3:15pm
I don't think that there is an equivalent concept in either WinClient or Linq.
 
In Classic, about the only use that I found for the Entity[Ordinal] capability was to assign a value  to a read-only property (e.g., Employee[0] = 1234).  This is a workaround for the problem that Employee.Id = 1234 generates a coimpiler error.  Is this the problem that you are trying to solve?
Back to Top
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25-Mar-2010 at 3:26pm
No.
 
I have a need to compare values on an unknown entities property based on a string.
 
In Classic if you wanted to compare and didn't know the property one way was to say BlahEntity["SomePropert"] == "MyValue".
Back to Top
IdeaBlade View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 30-May-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 347
Post Options Post Options   Quote IdeaBlade Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25-Mar-2010 at 5:02pm
BlahEntity.EntityAspect["SomePropert"] == "MyValue"

Everything except "pure" properties has been moved off the entity and into EntityAspect, so that intellisense and reflection views of the object aren't cluttered.

Back to Top
orcities View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25-Mar-2010 at 5:08pm
Thank you .
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down